IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award for Women PhotoJournalists 2018

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award honoring AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus, who was killed in Afghanistan in April 2014. 
Application Deadline: 19th January 2018
Eligible Countries: All
About the Award: The IWMF’s Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). It celebrates women photojournalists whose work inspires us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous reporting manifests in many different forms, and we celebrate visual journalism that inspires us to take action. We believe that courage is reflected in everyday life, beyond the frontlines of conflict, and we seek candidates whose work reflects the values of Anja Niedringhaus through compassion, humanity, and a commitment to capturing the whole picture. In Anja’s words “I do my job simply to report on people’s courage with my camera and my heart.” 
Type: Contest
Eligibility: Entrants must be full-time female photojournalists of any nationality.
Value of Award: The Award includes a cash prize of $20,000.
Timeline of Program: As part of the IWMF’s partnership with World Press Photo Foundation, the 2018 Award winner will be announced publicly and have her work showcased at the World Press Photo Festival of Visual Journalism in April 2018.
How to Apply: To apply yourself or submit a nomination for someone else, visit the IWMF’s Submittable page or contact josullivan@iwmf.org. The deadline for 2018 submissions is January 19, 2018.
Award Providers: 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here